The Dade County Water Authority was created in 1958 by an act of the Georgia Legislature and consisted mainly of the Trenton Water System serving 303 customers which was purchased from the City of Trenton.  In 1973 the act was amended and the name changed to the Dade County Water and Sewer Authority.


The Authority now serves in addition to Trenton, the Valley, (New England and Wildwood Communities), Lookout Mountain, Hinkle Community, Sand Mountain and the Hooker Community.


Some of the members of the board are:

E. O. McCarty

Robert White

W. D. Cureton

Henry Elliott

Elmer Stephens


(Used by permission, History of Dade County Georgia, Retired Senior Volunteer Program, 1981.)

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google photo

    You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

    Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: